Regulatory Oversight

Numerous government agencies regulate the operations of pipeline and terminal assets.  Sunoco Logistics personnel work closely with many agencies to ensure operations are conducted in a safe, secure and environmentally responsible manner. Regulatory agencies include:

  • Army Corp of Engineers (ACOE)
  • Bureau of Indian Affairs
  • Bureau of Land Management (BLM)
  • Canada National Energy Board (NEB)
  • Department of Energy (DOE)
  • Department of Homeland Security (DHS)
  • Federal Department of Transportation (DOT)
  • Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC)
  • Federal Environmental Protection Agency (EPA)
  • Mineral Management Service (MMS)
  • Office of Pipeline Safety (OPS)
  • Pipeline and Hazardous Materials Safety Administration (PHMSA)
  • Transportation Security Administration (TSA)
  • US Coast Guard (USCG)
  • US Department of Agriculture
  • US Fish and Wildlife Service (FWS)
  • US Forest Service
  • US Internal Revenue Service (IRS)
  • Various State and local Agencies

Regulatory standards cover many aspects of Sunoco Logistic’s operations to ensure they are conducted in a safe, secure and environmentally responsible manner.  They include but are not limited to:

  • Chemical Facility Anti-Terrorism Standard (CFATS)
  • Clean Air Act
  • Clean Water Act
  • Maritime Transportation Security Act (MTSA)
  • Toxic Substances Control Act (TSCA)
  • Resource Conservation and Recovery Act (RCRA)
  • Spill Prevention Control and Countermeasures (SPCC)
  • Superfund
  • Oil Pollution Act (OPA)
  • Pipeline Safety Act

The standards and criteria mandated by regulations are administered and enforced through various types of permits, licenses, registrations and certifications. There are numerous permit programs dealing with operations of the pipeline and terminal industry. These programs include on going self-monitoring, reporting and record keeping requirements.